[go: up one dir, main page]

Add or remove access to your YouTube channel with channel permissions

If you have a Brand Account, switch to channel permissions to add or remove access to your YouTube channel instead.  Learn how to migrate to channel permissions.

With channel permissions, you can grant other people access to your channel data, tools, and features in YouTube and YouTube Studio, with five different levels of access. Multiple people can manage your channel without having access to your Google Account. They can manage your channel on YouTube directly or in YouTube Studio, on a computer or mobile device. Granting permissions to someone:

  • Is safer than sharing your password or other sensitive sign in info.
  • Allows you to specify their access level so you can have more control over who can view or update your channel.

Channel Permissions in YouTube Studio: Invite People to Help Manage Your Channel

Subscribe to the YouTube Creators channel for the latest news, updates, and tips.

Channel permissions role types

Role

Supported

Not supported

Owner

Can do everything on all platforms, including:

  • Delete the channel
  • Manage live streams and live chat
  • Manage permissions
  • Can link Google Ads accounts
  • Can't transfer ownership to other users

Manager

  • Can view all channel data
  • Can manage permissions (in YouTube Studio)
  • Can edit channel details
  • Can manage live streams
  • Can create, upload, publish, and delete content (includes drafts)
  • Can chat or moderate chat within Live Control Room
  • Can create posts
  • Can comment
  • Can link Google Ads accounts
  • Can’t delete channel

Editor

  • Can view all channel data
  • Can edit everything
  • Can upload and publish content
  • Can manage live streams
  • Can delete drafts
  • Can chat or moderate chat within Live Control Room
  • Can create posts
  • Can comment
  • Can link Google Ads accounts
  • Can’t delete channel or published content
  • Can’t manage permissions
  • Can’t enter into contracts
  • Can’t delete scheduled/live/completed streams
  • Can’t delete or reset stream keys

Editor (Limited)

  • Same permissions as Editor
  • Same limitations as Editor
  • Can’t access revenue data (includes chat revenue and viewer activity tab)
Subtitle Editor
  • Can add, edit, publish and delete subtitles on eligible videos
  • Same limitations as Editor
  • Can’t edit anything (except for video subtitles)
  • Can’t access revenue data (includes chat revenue and viewer activity tab)
  • Can’t upload and publish content (except for video subtitles)
  • Can’t manage live streams
  • Can’t delete drafts
  • Can’t chat or moderate chat within Live Control Room
  • Can’t manage live streams
  • Can’t delete scheduled/live/completed streams
  • Can’t chat or moderate chat within Live Control Room
  • Can’t view all channel data

Viewer

  • Can view (but not edit) all channel details
  • Can create and edit YouTube Analytics groups
  • Can view revenue data (including chat revenue and viewer activity tab)
  • Can view/monitor created streams, pre-live and while live
  • Can view all stream settings except the stream key
  • Can’t manage live streams
  • Can’t delete scheduled/live/completed streams
  • Can’t chat or moderate chat within Live Control Room

Viewer (Limited)

  • Same permissions as Viewer
  • Same limitations as Viewer
  • Can’t access revenue data (includes chat revenue and viewer activity tab)

Supported actions

Note: Some actions may not be available at all when acting as a delegate.
Category Access level / Public actions YT Studio on a computer YT Studio app YouTube
Granular permission control Manager role
Editor role
Editor (Limited) role
Viewer only role
Viewer (Limited) role
Viewer only role
Video management Upload videos / Shorts
Create Shorts
Understand video performance in YouTube Analytics or Artist Analytics
Manage videos (metadata, monetization, visibility)
Create a playlist
Add a video to an existing public playlist
Manage playlists
Live stream as the channel
Captions, private video sharing
Channel management Customize / manage the channel homepage
Community engagement Create a post
Manage Community posts, not including deleting posts
Delete Community posts [Manager only] [Manager only]
Reply to comments as the channel from YouTube Studio
Comment and interact with comments on another channel's videos as the channel
Use Live Chat as the channel
Artists specific Official Artist Channel features (for example, concerts)
Use the Releases tab [Owners, managers, editors, and editors (limited)]

Public vs. private activity on YouTube

While acting as a delegate for a channel directly on YouTube, there’s a distinction between public and private actions.

  • Public actions: Delegates can perform these actions for the channel owner and the action will be attributed to the channel.
    • Public actions are listed in the table above.
  • Private actions: Delegates perform these actions as their personal account that they’re signed in with.
    • Private actions include searching, watching videos, and purchases. Learn more.

Visual indicators will help delegate users know how the action is attributed.

Grant access to your channel using permissions

If you have a Brand Account, you must first migrate to channel permissions.

Add access on YouTube Studio app

  1. Open the YouTube Studio app .
  2. Tap your profile picture .
  3. Tap Settings  in the menu.
  4. Tap Permissions in the settings menu.
  5. Tap Invite and enter the email address of the person you’d like to invite.
  6. Select the role you’d like to assign to this person from the table below.
  7. Tap Send invitation.
    • Note: Once an invite is sent, it expires after 30 days. 
  8. Tap Save.

Remove access to your channel

Remove or change access on the YouTube Studio app

  1. Open the YouTube Studio app .
  2. Tap your profile picture .
  3. Tap Settings in the menu.
  4. Tap Permissions in the settings menu.
  5. Select the person you’d like to remove.
  6. Select a new role and tap Save or Remove.

Note: Channel permissions don't support some parts of YouTube just yet. Even though the owner can access these features, invited users can't access:

  • YouTube Music
  • YouTube Kids app
  • YouTube APIs

Private actions on YouTube

Below are actions that are considered private, and would be associated with a delegate’s personal account:

Video management

Community engagement

  • Liking, disliking, or voting on a post.

Curation/consumption

  • Searching for content or accessing search history.
  • Watching a video or accessing watch history.
  • Blocking users on channel.
  • Viewing subscriptions.
  • Purchases (for example: Movies and Shows, Premium).
  • Purchase history.

Find channel owner details

Find the channel owner’s name and email on the YouTube Studio app

Note: Only managers and the owner can view names and emails of people that have access to a channel.
  1.  Open the YouTube Studio app .
  2. Tap Settings and then Permissions.
  3. You’ll see the name and email of everyone that has access to this channel.

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
13590698797216002750
true
Search Help Center
true
true
true
true
true
102809
false
false